New CDs (June 2014): 'heylich ist der dag - songs from the time of the devotio moderna'

With a digital colour facsimile of the original manuscript Trier 322, a modern edition of all songs and information about the history and the recording with a 'Kunstkopf' in the monastery church of Dalheim.

Price: 20 Euro (+ 4 Euro for shipping in Germany / 8 Euro outside the EU) order at mail@vox-nostra.de

CD December 2012:

VESPERA DE BEATA MARIA VIRGINE - A vespers of the Cistercian order in the 13th century
Live-Recording from the UNESCO World heritage site Maulbronn monastery 2012
Price: 15 Euro / order at mail@vox-nostra.de

The CD Assumpta est Maria from vocal ensemble Vox Nostra is an auditory illustration of the medieval celebration of the Assumption of Mary, one of the highest of feast days. The musical structure is based on a Mass of the High Middle Ages. Calmly breathing Gregorian chant from the 10th century, as well as polyphonic compositions from Leonin and Perotin from the cathedral Notre-Dame de Paris, and rare three-part vocal music from the Cistercian convent Las Huelgas in north Spain can be heard.

To listen click here

1 Deus misertus hominis | Conductus (Perotin)
2 Gaudeamus omnes in Domino | Introitus
3 Kyrie eleison
4 Gloria in excelsis Deo - Spiritus et alme
5 Propter veritatem | Graduale
6 Jube Domine - Consurge | Lectio
7 Ave maris stella | Conductus
8 Quae est ista - Psalm 113 In exitu Israel | Antiphon
9 Alleluia - Hodie Maria virgo | Organum (Leonin)
10 Assumpta est Maria | Offertorium
11 Mundus vergens in defectum | Conductus (Perotin)
12 Sanctus
13 Agnus Dei - Lux lucis
14 Optimam partem elegit- Magnificat |Communio
15 Benedicamus Domino - Deo gratias

Vocal Music from the Cathedral Notre-Dame de Paris in 1200 (2002)

Paris, 1163 Construction commenced on the Cathedral Notre-Dame in the new gothic style. The overwhelming spatial conception was referred to by the art historian Otto von Simson as “music turned into stone“. The exactness of proportion was the foundation of both the architecture as well as the music of the late Middle Ages. Similar to the conception of vertical construction of gothic cathedrals, a layering of up to four individual voices superimposed on one another is found in the liturgical music of the late 12th century. Two magistri were responsible for the navigation towards this early form of polyphony: Leonius and Perotinus. Music from the Mass, as well as from the Divine Office can be heard on this recording. The musical core consists of organa and conductus from Notre-Dame de Paris in the 13th century, as well as their musical emanations. Gregorian chant from the 10th to the 12th centuries, as well as inserted tropes and sequences from later 14th century sources are grouped according to their function within the Mass.

NOKTURN - Vox Nostra singt (2004)

Nocturnes, also known as vigils, make up the oldest and most extensive part of the monastic Liturgy of the Hours, sung by nuns and monks seven times each day. Gregorian Chant from the 10th century St. Gall manuscript, and polyphony from the Codex Las Huelgas, and the Cathedral Notre-Dame de Paris.

Not in Print

(Edition Wandelweiser Records 2007)
Composition for six voices by Carlo Inderhees (*1955)

"alles will schweben
der schwerste bau will leicht sein im erleben,
raum nur, nicht begrenzung,
zauber nur, nicht stein.
und stimmen möchten singen:
klingend raum für welten sein."
Aus dem booklet von Antoine Beuger

Vier Gesänge (Vox Nostra) und Interludien für Flöte (Normisa Pereira da Silva) und Gambe (Eva Reiter)